Message Board
News & Pictures
Recreational Riding
Stallion Auction


Illinois Quarter Horse Race Association

Filename: j0296951.gif
File Size: 16 KB

 Greetings from IQHRA,
On October 19, 2008 at 1:00 on Sunday afternoon we heard the call "Riders Up". This was a call for the jockeys to mount up for the first race of the day. Once again we were racing at Hawthorne Race Course in Cicero/Stickley, Illinois. It was a beautiful afternoon and the crowd had gathered to watch the "Speedsters of the Midway". The first two races of the day were quarter horse races. The crowd started to stir as the horses filed in to the paddock to be saddled for race number one. Race one was for two years old maiden (A maiden is a horse which has not won a race) for a distance of 350 yards and a very good purse of $10,000. As the horses entered the track for the post parade you could sense the excitement flowing through the crowd. At the starting gate the horses entered one by one. Into hole number one entered Jessforbump and then came Cashs Desire, Sweet Adieu, Tada Tada, Tangle Ridge Dazzler, LS Jag Bar Six, Six Thirteen Cash Rd, Brothers Pass, and the last hole was Bettys Get Go. As the gates popped open and the horses crossed the finish line the tote board listed the first four places. First place went to Tada Tada, owned by Manny Silva and trained by Gene Allen, second place was Sweet Adieu owned by Manny Silva and trained by Gene Allen, third place went to Jessforbump, owned and trained by Jim and Becky Reynolds, and fourth place went to Betty Get Go, owned by Ramon Maya and trained by Gene Allen. The second race of the day was for 3 years old and up maidens at a distance of 400 yards for a purse of $10,000. There were a gate of 10 horses, SC Call Girl, Im Going for Two, Crooks Fuel, Aces Dash N By Yawl, Lady Juggernaut, LS Pay In Cold, JK Bonjur, Clown Doctor, Caliandra, and Fall Special. As the horses crossed the finish line you could hear a loud roar. That roar was coming from none other than Norm Bishop. His horse, Crooks Fuel, had finally broken his maiden. His 5 years old gelding was finally a winner. There was a big smile on both Norm and Crooks Fuel's face. The order of finish was Crooks Fuel owned and trained by Norm Bishop, LS Pay in Gold, owned by Manny Silva and trained by Gene Allen, SC Call Girl, owned by J.C. McCreary and trained by Rhonda Thurman, and Lady Juggernaut, owned by Jack Matherly and trained by F.C. (Sonny) Dodd. They say that horse racing is a sport of kings. For that one Sunday in October we felt like kings and queens. I have raced for many years but every time one of our horses enters the gates my heart starts to pound like a young school boy with his first love. Horses were my first love and besides God and my family they are still one of my greatest loves. Our association has come a long way in two years. We have formed a team with IQHA and together striving to promote the American Quarter Horse in all ways. With the new General Assembly approaching we will once again be traveling to Springfield to try and make a better life for the Illinois Horsemen and Horse ladies. In closing we would like to thank everyone for their support in 2008 and hope to see you at the next race.

Gene Allen


 Every year IQHA sponsors the Quarter Horse racing at the Effingham County Fair. Many of our Race Association directors not only participate, but win.

Here's the photo of the winner and below is the message from Dean Wetherell the Racing Superintendent for the fair.

The Quarter horse race went in 9 3/5 seconds and was won by Driftin Gypsy Girl, owned by Norm Bishop of Marshall, Il.

Ace's Dash N Dywawl was second owned by Kelly Lehn of Keysport and riden by Ashley Snedegar.

Ace's Flaming Fred was third owned by Dana Webb of Tunnel Hill and riden by Alex Rizo.

Thanks for your support of the Effingham County Fair. I really appreciate it.


Illinois Quarter Horse Race Association
2008 Officers & Directors


Vice President


Randy Smith
Rt. 1 Box 149
Broughton, IL 62817

Jimmy Jackson
47 Parkway
Clinton, IL 61727

Robert Burton
12814 E 2100 N RD
Danville IL 61834

         Past President  


FC Dodd
340 S Hwy Box 33
Deland, IL 61839
217-841-1514 cell


Northern VP  Central VP Southern VP

Manny Silva
16347 Cannell Rd.
Rockton, IL 61072

Raul Venegas
2974 Co. Rd. 700 E
Dewey, IL 61840

John Daniels
R. R. 2  Box 357
Vandalia, IL 62471


Race Directors


Chris Arentsen
P.O. Box 31
587 N. Jackson
Trenton, IL 62293

Brad Bartram
21084 E U.S. Hwy. 40
Marshall, IL 62441

Lea Ann Koch-Bingham  
6274 W. Route 34  
Oswego , IL 60543
630-253-1912 cell  
630-554-2240 fax




Norm Bishop
15833 N 2000 St.
Marshall, IL 62441

Cherylann Easley  
230 Concord Church Lane 
Vienna , IL 62995

Joe Glassford
R. R. #1
McLeansboro, IL 62859
217-341-6392 cell




Kelly Lehn
1589 Hookdale Ave.
Keyesport, IL 62253

 Rich Lehn
1589 Hookdale Ave.
Keyesport, IL 62253

Greg Simmons
16971 Kentucky Ln.
Creal Springs, IL 62922





                                Illinois Stallion Race Futurity
                                       350 yards
                             <>Open to all foals of Illinois based Stallions<>
                        <>Owners award / Breeders award / Winners trophy<>
                                     <> Track and date to be announced<>
                              <>Race Finals limited to 10 fastest qualifiers<>

                                                 Payment schedule
                               Trials?                                           Finals
                                                  Nomination fee
                                                       $ 50.00
                                                       Feb 15th
                               Due date                                         Fee’s
                                3/1/08                                          $50.00
                                4/1/08                                          $50.00
                                6/1/08                                          $100.00
                                8/1/08                                          $150.00
                                                                  total fees   $400.00
                        Late entry’s $250.00 plus all pass due payments
                    Make checks payable : Illinois Stallion Race Futurity

                    Mailing address : Jimmy Jackson
                                                 P.O Box 293
                                                 Clinton Illinois , 61727
                     Info contact : Jimmy @ C- 309-319-3170
                                                            H- 217-935-8350




Contact information:  ILQHA
                                              P.O. Box 730
                                                    Batavia, IL  60510
Secretary:  Cheryl LaMaster,